latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

test

2002-08-07 - 1:10 a.m.

This is a test of the weblog-style entry system.

previous next

Debian, prepare for the co-lo!

2002-08-07 - 12:55 a.m.

I'm still setting up the Linux box that will be co-located at a friend's house (who has a much better dsl connection). I love Debian, but my video card isn't very Linux-friendly (and is the only one I have I could get to co-exist with that Promise IDE card...), so I gave up on setting up X.

That's fine... my main access will be via SSH anyway. What I'm working on now is IRC. I want to set up a text client that will allow me to set up an fserve for sharing files, like the one I currently use with mIRC. Bitchx will let me share individual files, like xdcc packets, but with how man files I want to share, that would be unmanageable.

The web server will be easy to set up, but one of my main motives of hosting a server there is to send and get anime episodes at much better speeds, and to offload some bandwidth off of our crappy idsl at home.

If I keep hunting, I'll bet I can find a nice script or bot that will do the job nicely. If that doesn't work, maybe I can hire one of my friends to write one. :)

Off to San Diego soon. I think it will be lots of fun. (: And it's already Tuesday-Wednesday, my last work day of the week.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!