latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

MegaSanjose

2002-01-30 - 1:01 p.m.

So I'm checking Slashdot on my lunch break at work, and there's an ad, and it actually catches my eye: An online comic, manga-style, called Megatokyo.

The characters are familiar, as in like people I already know. The character design is familiar, out of anime or, more precisely, like my domestic partner's brother's sketchbook. The plots range from silly out-there stuff involving consciences who sit on shoulders and spout advice and type on their laptops, to misadventures that make me wonder if the authors have been spying on me.

Suddenly, my lunch break is over, and I've read nowhere-near as much as I wanted to.

At home, I spent 3 or 4 hours reading every remaining bit of Megatokyo. Why had no one told me of this?

My job is going well. I switch to graveyard next week. I'm starting a list of things-I'll-need-to-know-before-I'm-on-my-own-in-the-middle-of-the-night. I don't have an official office phone number, or even an official office, but I do have my own 1.6 gigahertz Pentium 4, which with Windows 2000 is reasonably fast. And a pager that has an email address. I have to wonder why, however, they bought my a PC with a DVD-ROM drive. What does this seem to suggest for those slow times at 4:45am?

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!