latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

What do you call me?

2004-03-16 - 4:16 a.m.

Stolen from ademordna

If you call me ____, You are _____

If you call me Todd, you could be most anyone.

If you call me Tom, you are someone at work who has trouble understanding when I identify myself over the phone, even when I over-annunciate the "dd."

If you call me ashi, you are someone from my Japanese class from 1987, or one of my friends, or someone I know online.

If you call me Chris, you are one of my co-workers from KVO where I went by that name, or a Jamba Juice employee. "Chris" is easier for people to get right than "Todd." See "Tom" above.

If you call me Tadashi, or Todd-ashi, you are someone who knew my fan name quite a while back, before it got shortened to ashi.

If you call me Hey Look at the Lesbians, you are someone who drove along 11th Street in San Jose some time in 1993, saw me kissing my Whatever, and mistook me for a woman from behind.

If you call me Robin, you are my Whatever, and this is still 1993 or 1994. See also Horny Toad and Heater, but please, don't ask.

If you call me Toddlet, you know I like to act like a kid sometimes.

If you call me Allis in Wonderland, you are a grade school kid who isn't very creative. My Dad was called the same thing over 40 years earlier.

If you call me Toad, you are one of my 6th grade classmates.

If you call me Frogger, you are my friend Scott in 6th grade.

If you tried to call me Toddy, you are a woman at church who was quickly corrected by my mom.

If you call me Odd Todd, you are right.

If you call me Snaggle Tooth, you are someone who knew me at church summer camp.

If you call me Max, you are someone who knew me in my early anime fandom days.

If you call me the Mad Bomber, you are someone who knew me from Boys' State.

If you call me Daddy, you are my daughter, Gretchen Bethany Clarke-Allis.

If you call me Mommy, you are one of my friends who has adopted me as a Mommy.

If you call me Clarissa, I am in drag.

If you call me Techie or Lutwitch, you have watched Zero way too much.

If you call me Todd A., you will get glared at. In 5th grade, there was another Todd, and he was just plain Todd, while I was called Todd A. Someone at KVO tried to call me Todd A., which is when I temporarily switched to Chris.

previous next

5 questions from thespatula

2004-03-16 - 2:53 a.m.

1. �^�_�V�@�́@�����@�ł��@���H

Romanized for your convenience

(No, I won't translate it): Tadashi wa wansan desu ka?

�������A������ �� �ɂ񂰂� �ł��B

Iie, tadashi wa ningen desu.

�Q�@�^�_�V�@�́@�����@���͂�@�ł��@���H�@

(i think my grammar is totally wrong on that one, but you get the idea i hope?)

Tadashi no suki go han desu ka?

�����ȁ@���͂�@�́@�G�`�I�s�A���A�����A�� �J���[ �ł��B

Suki na gohan wa Echiopian, sushi, to karee desu.

3. YOu fall into a well and when you climb out you are in a strange forest and there a boy with puppy ears tied to a tree, what do you do?

WOw, are those real puppy ears? *poke* Hmm, I wonder what would happen

if I untied him and tried to pull this arrow out of his chest...

4. What was the name of your first Pet?

I have vague memories of a dog when I was growing up, but I don't remember hir name. I'll go with Turtley Turtle, who was a small water-dwelling turtle, much smaller than Captain Crunch, who showed up one day in my back yard.

5. Boo wants to know "Trill Mya?"

Purrrt. Nyao myu myu. Trrrrill?

previous next

5 questions from thechick

2004-03-16 - 12:04 a.m.

Ask me 5 questions if you want me to interview you.

More to follow shortly.

1. What conditions would have to arise for you to give up being vegan?

First of all, conditions for temporary non-vegan-ness. I would eat non-vegan food if I needed to, to survive. It seems like a type of answer that shouldn't require much backing up, and besides, survival instinct would take over. I would also follow in the footsteps of the Donner party and Alferd Packer in order to survive. I would likely, when in an emergency situation, resort to dairy and egg products, then fish/seafood, then other non-human flesh, then finally human flesh.

Of course, in that situation, if I survived, I would go back to eating vegan once vegan food became available again.

What about conditions for a permanent change? This is a harder question. I would have to change my mind about many basic things, or find overwhelming scientific evidence that I needed something provided by something non-vegan to survive. That would be surprising, as vegans have been around for a long time.

2. What is your earliest childhood memory?

I'm not sure which one is the earliest. Note that Nancy is the youngest of my three sisters, but is 12 years older than me.

I walked into Nancy's room. She said, "Get out of my room!" I complied.

Nancy said she had the hiccups. I was convinced this was some kind of treat she had, which she would not share with me.

Nancy was taken away in an ambulance for knee problems.

A sunday school teacher took away the frisbee I brought with me, claiming it belonged to the church. I believe this is the first time I had seen that an Adult could be Wrong.

I pointed out to Mom, as we drove by some people working by the side of the rode, that those men were naked. She informed me that it's okay for a man to be outside without a shirt on.

Listening to Nancy's record (I think it was a 45) "Love Will Keep Us Together" - Captain and Tennille. I believe it was my favorite of her collection.

3. If you could relive any year from your life what would you relive?

Would you do things differently?

I could answer this a number of ways... so I will.

A. Oh boy, I don't want to relive the past. I'm glad I have the experiences I have, and I've learned from them, but I don't want to go back.

B. The year I was proposed to, 1973. I wouldn't change a thing, except maybe investigating something I now know was going on, and blowing the whistle on it.

C. 1992. Especially the week and a half in Moscow. I don't think I would change a thing. Maybe I would write to Lena more after the visit.

4. What is your favorite feature film and why?

A. Animated feature film. Windaria. It was gorgeously animated, had a fairy tale feel, and ended in a brutal war, complete with betrayal, suicide, and bitter weeping. I paid $50 for the R2 DVD. A friend is working on a fansub of it for me.

B. Live action feature film. Dreamchild. Not to be confused with A Nightmare on Elm Street: The Dream Child. Why? It really hit me. I cried, a lot. Alice Hargreaves, formerly Liddell, now 80 years old, is given an honourary degree at Columbia University in New York, as part of the celebration of Lewis Carroll's centenary. It is her first and only trip to the United States. As, for the first time in years, she is reminded of the stories once told to her, that later became _Alice's Adventures Underground_, _Alice's Adventures in Wonderland_, and _Throught the Looking Glass_, she is haunted by her memories. The creatures in the stories that amused her as a child come to life in a scary portrayal by Jim Henson's Creature Shoppe. Young Alice is played by Amelia Shankley, and bears quite a resemblance to Alice Liddell. Alice gradually comes to terms with her feelings about the past.

5. What science fiction convention that you attended was the most memorable? Explain.

It's kind of a tie. My first science fiction convention:

Worldcon 1984, Anaheim, California.

I was quite blown away. I only went for a day. I found all kinds of stuff in the dealer's room. I listened to talks by Star Wars people. I waited in line 6 hours to watch 6 and a half hours of Star Wars IV - VI. I got a flyer for a Battlestar Galactica club, which I joined. I got the first and only edition of "Lyconthropy" magazine, which I tried to subscribe to, but they folded. I was 15, by the way. Last year was my fifth Worldcon.

Baycon 1988, San Jose, California.

I was pretty blown away again. A con, with an anime guide (er, they called it a Japanimation guide, I think)! And 24 hour anime on BCTV! Room parties! Con suite! Did I mention it was my first vacation with friends and w/o parents? I was 18, almost 19. I lived in Orange County back then. This year will be my 17th Baycon.

previous next

Pi�ata assault

2004-03-07 - 2:17 a.m.

I have a new cookie obsession. Of the girl scout variety. And, it's by the company the local girl scouts sell, ABC Interbake. I don't have to drive far to get them, as I do to find Little Brownie Baker cookies.

Pi�atas

They aren't made with real girl scouts. They are Todd-friendly... no animal products. But sorry, Nolly, they are made with real strawberries.

Cute, hyper scouts got my on my way out of Albertson's. I just had to spring for six boxes. I'm glad I wound up liking them...

previous next

The End of Ender

2004-02-28 - 1:40 p.m.

Ender was towed away yesterday. For those of you who didn't know him, he was a 1991 Honda Civic Wagon, 4 doors with hatch, with 5-speed manual transmission, metallic grey. He was named for Ender Wiggin, of Orson Scott Card's _Ender's Game_ series.

He was pretty friendly, and only hit people with his doors and the hatch a few times.

He will live on in our memories, and in the clock, stereo, radiator, and full-sized spare tire he donated to Yumi. He took with him Yumi's old doughnut spare tire, and a lot of junk I didn't clean out of him. I did pick through the junk for valuables.

I should take some nice pictures of Yumi soon. She's a 1990 2-door Honda Civic hatchback with a 4-speed manual transmission, copper-colored. She is named for Fukuzawa Yumi of Konno Oyuki's "Maria-sama ga Miteru."

previous next

conlibserveralative

2004-02-20 - 2:41 a.m.

Woo, 50/50. Is anyone surprised?

Check out my Morality! 50% liberal, 50% conservative

previous next

Anti-Superbowl party anyone?

2004-02-01 - 7:14 a.m.

I just found out early this morning at work that today is SuperBowl Sunday. Anyone want to go see a movie, hang out, or go for breakfast/dinner this afternoon? I plan to wake up around noon.

Coincidence? I swung by Fry's on the way to work to get blank DVDs and saw the "Priscilla: Queen of the Desert" DVD as I passed by it and picked it up. Superbowl Sunday 1995 was when I drove Priscilla home and saw that movie and named her after the movie.

previous next

Wireless Monkey Guu

2004-01-28 - 7:06 a.m.

Hi!

I'm sitting here at Hobee's, enjoying their oatmeal bar, at the start of my weekend. I decided to stop here after work, but they don't open till 6:30am, so I thought hmm, I have my laptop and my new wireless card... and there's a housing complex right nearby... let's see if I can connect.

There were several options from the car, but only one that works from inside.

Still, I find this cool, and don't plan to, say, download anime via some unsuspecting, careless person's connection. Besides, my laptop has a small hard drive...

Last weekend was immensely fun. Thanks, everyone who showed up to one or both parties, though of showing up, or sent good wishes or requests for long-distance Doubletree cookies. :)

The year of the monkey is here, and several new people are addicted to "Jungle wa Itsumo Hale Nochi Guu." Things are looking up.

previous next

mmm, rainy days

2004-01-02 - 4:27 a.m.

I love rainy days. Okay, I liked them before and all, but working nights, ahh.

First of all, a rainy day tends to be cold and dark... kind of like night time, which makes it easier to sleep.

Second, I have a metal roof, and I love the sound of rain drops on my metal roof.

Yesterday, I had the best sleep I've had in a long time. The computer was still unplugged because of the New Year's party (which was quite wonderful btw), and I didn't need it running to block out incidental noise anyway, because the construction workers were off for New Year's Day. And Charybdis came in and slept next to me.

previous next

Chinese New Year's Party

2003-12-30 - 9:57 p.m.

Announcing Toddashi's annual Chinese New Year's Party!

Wednesday January 21st.

6pm until we all fall asleep.

San Jose Doubletree. Contact Ademordna or me for contact info for finding out which room we will be in that day!

Why Chinese New Year's Eve? Cuz we want to! There are too many other parties fighting for your time on Dec. 31st, and we're greedy! :D

Asian food treats will be served. Our normal entertainment of Projection anime/movies/DDR will occur. If you are interested in helping out at all, please let us know!

Since we will be entering the year of the Monkey, we request that you bring with you a banana. :D

We were hoping to do an FC party too, but the rooms are sold out, so that may not happen.

Woo!

This annoucement was stolen from Ademordna.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!