latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

Things I forgot to mention

2003-07-28 - 5:26 a.m.

When I was walking in Portland recently, a girl asked me for change. As I handed her just about all my change (including two one-dollar coins), it occurred to me that almost always it's guys that asked me for change, and that this girl was so cute I hadn't stopped to think really before handing over my change.

I'm up to 7 watchings of "Pirates of the Caribbean." I also recently enjoyed "Cutthroat Island" and the 1940 Errol Flynn "The Sea Hawk" (there was a 1920's silent film of that title also, which I'd also like to see).

I ought to get my car looked at soon. The battery drains away if I leave it plugged in when I park it, so I've been disconnecting it when not in use.

I have not stopped dressing like a pirate since Wednesday.

Charybdis doesn't mew at me as much while I'm asleep during the day trying to get me to pet her. Maybe she's figured out that I sleep a night's worth each day.

My digital camera is mostly fine, but a few buttons don't respond, and I can't get pictures copied from internal memory to the Smartmedia card. I need the USB cable to transfer pictures of me in my pirate garb.

No one at work has asked *why* I'm dressed like a pirate, which I find surprising. One of the shift supervisors, however, said she liked my bandana and earring.

Since I made the list of potential reasons why I might be dressed like a pirate, no one at all has asked me why.

I want to go to Santa Cruz to get the latest fake cheese, to get cotton candy, to ride a few rides at the Boardwalk, and to go to Saturn Cafe.

You can now watch Romeo and Juliet in Flash animation done in stick figures talking in something similar to online-chat English here.

previous next

Cool, I liked her.

2003-07-27 - 8:19 p.m.


Well well, you and Anamaria the lady pirate
should have a fine time sailing the roiled sea
in each other's arms. Be sure not to get on
her bad side and she'll stay true to you.
Quite the handy girl.



Who's Your Pirates of the Caribbean Love Match?
brought to you by Quizilla

previous next

Must be a reason why...

2003-07-26 - 11:55 a.m.

Fifty-Three answers to the question, "Why are you dressed like a pirate?" Came up with these last night with Debbio.

I'm a violent sociopath, and this is the only thing I've found that keeps me sane.

I'm looking for an able-bodied crew... have you sailed before?

That's a... sensative subject for me.

What? Well, it *is* July 26... (insert current date).

Me Mum dresses me this way.

Why aren't you?

My great grandad was a pirate... it's a family thing

What else are you supposed to wear when you loot and plunder?

It was a dare.

Sorority initiation.

You really don't want to know.

It's a very long story.

A pirate? What's that?

Actually, I'm a privateer.

(thick accent) I was told this is latest fashion here.

Bad hair day.

The only thinng I hadd clean.

I'm glad you asked... (walk away)

You know, I don't hear that a lot.

You know, it's a fetish thing.

I'm meeting a blind date here, so we decided to dress like pirates so we'd recognise each other.

I lose track of my friends otherwise.

Arrrrr... (walk away).

Laugh loudly and walk away.

Aye, you'd think there'd be a reason for that, wouldn't you?

When I was 5, I went on a cruise with my family, and I stole a stick of gum from the onboard store. That was my first theft at sea...

I'm in a play.

This way, I can get away with saying, "Yo, ho."

Start singing "Yo Ho, Yo Ho, A Pirate's Life For Me..."

Dead men tell no tales.

Parlay!

I'm protesting.

No time for that now. Have you seen a monkey this tall?

My imaginary friend is out to get me, but he's afraid of pirates.

Launch into a pirate joke.

I married into a pirate family.

Actually I'm a (vegan, Unitarian). This is how we dress.

I'm a software pirate, but their outfits are boring.

I'm a music pirate. I'm trying to make this our official look.

I'm on a mission from God.

I'm a big sports fan from Pittsburgh.

Because I like it when people ask me questions.

It attracts people of my preferred gender.

I'm a butt pirate.

I got in here free.

More comfortable than wearing a corsette.

I was told this was a costume event.

I came here straight from work.

Because of people like you.

My Captain requires it.

If they don't mention the word pirate... say, "Pirate!"

You wouldn't believe me if I told you.

Haven't you heard there's a pirate convention?

previous next

Why am I dressed this way?

2003-07-26 - 2:37 a.m.

Mmmm Fountains of Wayne. Thanks, Debbio, for introducing me to them. Ben Lee was great too. The concert was at the Fillmore in SF.

On the way out of the concert, we were asked why we were dressed like pirates. She seemed disappointed when we simply said we felt like it. It was rather inspiring. More on that later. I'm really worn out. :)

previous next

Charybdis going punk?

2003-07-21 - 9:55 p.m.

I'm going to have to take a new picture of Charybdis soon. Her fur is badly matted in a few spots, as I found out while brushing her today.

I bought hair clippers tonight, and I'll probably start on the matted spots tomorrow afternoon before work. At least it's summer, and it might be a bit more comfortable with a bit less hair... I wonder how punk she will wind up looking...

previous next

SF Pirate Outing, anyone?

2003-07-21 - 12:40 a.m.

Wednesday or Thursday afternoon, I'll be driving to Colma BART and transiting into the City to visit the Pirate Store (http://www.826valencia.org/store/). Anyone else who wants to go, please comment or email me. :)

previous next

sleepy grumpy me

2003-07-20 - 6:14 p.m.

Please, for future reference, let me know if you're going to stop by during the day during my work week.

That way, if my co-worker keeps me late chatting about vegetarian stuff, and I realise he uses Dove soap and doesn't know what it's made with, and I come home and find my kitty is still missing and wind up diggin her out from under my desk, and I go to sleep late, then I can let visiting people know I went to bed late and not to bother me quite so early.

Thankfully after a while I was able to sleep again, and I was able to get up and into work on time. :) Charybdis has been wandering about, looking for nice loungy-type spots, and doesn't seem to need to hide much any more.

previous next

My new kitty, Charybdis!

2003-07-19 - 3:33 a.m.

I let her roam a bit on the drive home from San Diego, and she sat in my lap some and kneaded my tummy! :)

Here she is at her first favorite spot at my house.

previous next

avast!

2003-07-18 - 8:59 a.m.

Found at http://www.defectiveyeti.com/archives/000690.html (thanks Allen ) and re-hosted, arrrr:

previous next

Mum and Nolly, a con and a cat

2003-07-18 - 5:03 a.m.

This is the first time I've driven far away on a short (3-night) weekend. I hope the drive home tonight with Charybdis isn't too bad. Did I mention she's coming to live with me? If I remember correctly, she's 10 years old and 10 pounds, with long hair, and extra-lazy. :) I'll get pictures up when I can.

Visit with Mum was good. Found out more disturbing things about one of my cousins, and cried over that a bit.

Visit with Nolly is going quite nicely. She has to work today, and I'll probably be on the road by the time she's done there for the day. I'll see her a bit when she wakes up.

Going to check out San Diego Comic Con for a while. I hope I can sleep a little more before I go home.

I haven't seen "Pirates of the Caribbean" since Tuesday. Maybe I can catch a showing Saturday. Arrrr.

previous next

Time travel interview: Me at 4

2003-07-12 - 2:03 a.m.

Here with me today is the younger me at age 4. I don't want to interact with the others around him, so I've simply pulled him up here for the moment. If this works well, I think I'll do a series of such interviews.

Me: Hello, lad. Sorry to pull you away from your day, but I'd like to ask you a few questions.

4: Hi. Where are we?

Me: This is my house. What are you holding there?

4: MY frisbee. It's mine.

Me: I believe you. It's a nice, blue frisbee. I see it even has your name on it.

4: GOOD. My Sunday school teacher didn't believe me. I brought it to Sunday school. She said it was the church's. She didn't believe me, and she took it! I told my mom. She got it back and put my name on it.

Me: I'm sorry. I hate it when people don't believe me.

4: I HATE it. It's MY frisbee. I wanna go home now.

Me: Sorry to keep you. Go home and give your mom a big hug.

4: Okay.

*Poof*

I still remember that blue frisbee. There was a lighter spot in the middle where it was scrubbed or something so my mom could write my name on it.

My earliest memory of the concept of lying and stealing, and it was being falsely accused of lying and having something effectively stolen from my, by an authority figure. Poor me. There there. It's okay now.

Hmm, that must have been in Palm Springs. Anyway, that's it for now. I don't think I'll necessarily go in order, but I thought I'd start with my earliest somewhat-clear memory.

previous next

harry potter 5?

2003-06-19 - 10:44 a.m.

I saw that Harry Potter 5 is coming out, well, about tomorrow. Being curious, broke, and likely to buy the book soon anyway, I figured I'd see what I could find on Kazaa looking for Harry Phoenix 5.

Okay, a couple copies of _Paradise Lost_ disguised as Harry Potter. Oh, Harry Potter 1-4 in PDF... Wait, what's this? It has a funny title, but it starts off sounding like it could be the 5th book...

I looked through the first few paragraphs for something to tip me off, like bad grammar, bad spelling, broken English, bad characterisation... but I found none of that. I went from entertaining the idea that I'd found quite a good fake to entertaining the idea that I really was the first person on my block to read the new book.

A new character was introduced, and it all seemed very canon to me. I said to myself, "Whether this is real or not, I like it." Then it hit me... the strange title. I did a Google Groups search for "Harry Potter and the Psychic Serpent" and got my answer... it's a fanfic! I'd grabbed a 553-page PDF of a fan fiction that takes place where the 4th book left off. Now that was a nice Kazaa practical joke. :) It's a really good fanfic in my humble opinion, and has me wanting to read more.

Here's a site where you can grab it. I'm only into the sixth chapter, but I love it so far.

By the way... Windows 2000 is really stupid sometimes. I moved my Walmart PC to the kiosk in the living room, booted it up, and it blue-screened. Windows 98 booted fine. I finally figured out that the keyboard would flash lights just before the crash, and that it wanted the old keyboard back. The kiosk has a big 5-pin old-style keyboard connector, and I put an adaptor on it, but that must have confused it. I finally used the old keyboard it was installed with to re-install the keyboard driver, and now it works fine.

Hrmm, up late again. Got to get to a good stopping point in the story...

previous next

Quick, cheap, garlic mashed potatoes

2003-06-17 - 4:58 a.m.

I brought my blender to work again to make smoothies. Since I'm alone at night in this building, the noise won't bother anyone, and I'm 1. saving money that would have gone to Jamba Juice, and 2. getting my own yummy smoothies when they aren't open.

I started with variations on the Orange Julius recipe posted a while back, then did a soy milk-chocolate-syrup-banana smoothie, but I realised I didn't have anything "solid" enough to eat tonight, and I was very low on spendable money. So, a very cheap entree...

Garlic mashed potatoes at the office

1 Potato, scrubbed but not peeled (feel free to peel if you like)

2 cloves garlic (I used 3... it was a bit much... actually, most of you would probably be fine with just 1, heehee)

A little soy milk or water

You'll need a blender, a bowl, and some kind of utensil.

Bake the potato for 3 minutes (the max setting on the work microwave). Slice it with a spoon, fork, knife... whaever is handy. Place in a bowl with instant hot water from the office water jug or coffee maker, so the water covers the potato as much as possible. Microwave for two more 3-minute cycles. You may need to add water between.

Mash the potato down a bit to make sure it's done enough. If not, Microwave it some more. Now place the potato/water mixture into the blender and blend. Add soy milk or water sufficient to process. Now drop in the clove(s) of garlic, and process a while. Yes, you just added raw garlic, so you don't need much.

Pour the mixture into the bowl, and quickly clean out the blender, if you don't want it be garlicky. Serve.

If you have salt and pepper handy, feel free to add some or other spices. I enjoyed mine with just three cloves of garlic. Now my smoothie tastes like garlic. Mmm... (The blender cleaned out nicely, but my mouth tastes of garlic.) For my next trick, I may bring in the crock pot and actually cook chili at work...

previous next

13 years in review

2003-06-17 - 4:29 a.m.

So, I found a friend from my old church online that I hadn't talked to in 13 years or so and emailed her a few days back.

Tonight I got a response. Included was this:

"So how is like what have you done for the last 13 years?"

I proceeded to write a Reader's Digest condensed version of the highlights of my life of last 13 years. She did ask for it...

It's an odd feeling reviewing my life since I struck out on my own and moved from Southern to Northern California, and seeing that I really have accomplished some things and changed a lot over the years.

previous next

Monterey Bay with Chili

2003-06-16 - 3:03 a.m.

Had an interesting Saturday. I woke up pretty early, then slacked until my normal wake-up time. I drove to the Monterey Bay Aquarium with Chili, the dog who is travelling the world (Chili's site). There I met Meerkat and a couple named Erin and Deborah, which struck me as funny cause of a brother and sister named Ewen (pronounced, in his case, the same as Aaron or Erin) and Deborah.

Meerkat uses a keyboard device for talking, which I got used to pretty quickly. I really only had trouble with the word "vitriolic."

The sea creatures were incredible. I definately want to go back. I got some good pictures too. :)

On the way home, I hit Saturn Cafe. I had vegan nachitos and the special tofu pie of the day, avocado-banana. Mmm... I felt odd only leaving a $4 tip, but the total was only $7.something... 50-some-percent should be fine. :)

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!