latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

Where is the year going already?

2003-02-04 - 4:23 a.m.

Wow, I seemed to have run into this mental block about journals. I not only didn't write in mine... I didn't read anyone's either, for a few weeks.

Anyone, in those two weeks, I have had *two* visits from Nolly! *^.^* Things seem to be going well. I owe her a visit next, which should be in another two weeks for Gallifrey One. I'll at least be able to get Saturday night off. Loki may end up coming with me too.

By the way, happy year of the sheep. I had a Chinese New Year's party with Ade and Debbie and Sarahemm and DrewKitty and LoriKitty and Nolly and my domestic partner and Thrax and lots of other nifty people for a total of 21. I still have leftover food stuffs. We watched anime and other animated stuff and a good Jackie Chan movie and played Fluxx 3.0 and anti-Fluxx and Twister.

We took Debbie's Pink-Haired Friend (I think she likes him! Too bad he got sick) home cause he was sick, then went for Ethiopian food. Mmmm. I said good-byes to Nolly (who drove 8 hours each way just to go to the party!), then took Debbie home. I had to work that night, so I hung out for a bit and brushed Mog the cat and got to hear live guitar and singing by Debbie herself. I get to record her Wednesday night! Need more Debbie music.

previous next

Moving storage lockers

2003-01-8 - 1:33 a.m.

My old storage locker is being torn down. For that matter, so are the brick dorms (sorry, residence halls) I used to live in at San Jose State... I want to get a piece of Moulder Hall... anyway...

Today I stayed up incredibly late and got two wonderful friends (thank you both of you!) to help me move, and a free truck and driver from the new storage place (thank you storage place and driver!).

We finished in an hour and a half. When I signed out on the old place, I noticed that it said I had agreed to sweep the floor clean. I started to ask, and was told not to worry about it. Then realisation dawned on me... they were tearing it down... a little dust didn't matter.

Despite all the daylight and all the places open, we settled on Denny's. I had the usual "toast waffle" (toast with syrup, cut up and eaten like a waffle). It's the closest they have to a vegan waffle or pancake. We talked about all the times we had moved, and I was far outclassed.

I looked like I was falling asleep, so they said I should go home, and I agreed.

previous next

Wednesday the First

2003-01-1.5 - 4:44 a.m.

It was an interesting Wednesday. Ade and I went to Saturn Cafe. Before we left, I finally washed off the engine, thanks to the little half-hour drive I did with the oil cap off that was making smokey smells, and would be bad for a long drive.

We got there, and sat at the Michael Jackson table, and things were quite good. Our server even sat down with us to take our order, which was cool.

I love AAA Plus (the Automobile Club of America, with the special plan that gives you 100 miles of towing). When I couldn't start the car, I called them and got a jump start, which just barely worked. We drove down the block and went to turn, and the car stopped again. We got hitched for a tow back to San Jose.

We had just one stop in Santa Cruz to make... there was a 4x4 Jeep Cherokee stuck in the mud, which seemed possible to winch out with my car on the back of the tow truck. We got there... the driver checked it out... no. It was far enough into the mud that the tow truck would likely sink just getting close enough. The axels were sunk under the mud.

We had a nice chat with the driver on the way back, and Ade's roommate was nice and picked us up at the mechanic's parking lot. It was pretty late for Ade when she got home... not terribly far from my bedtime.

I owe my mechanic some money... hopefully I can afford to pay that and the new repairs.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!