latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

Earl had to die.

2002-11-19 - 5:11 a.m.

This has been a culture week for me, of sorts.

First I finally got a chance to listen to the Dixie Chicks for the first time, and I love "Goodbye Earl!" I have more than trippled my selection of country mp3s on my PC... I had 3 before.

And tonight, I walked past the TV in the cafeteria at work, stopped, saw something vaguely resembling a funny home videos show in Spanish, and asked the others watching if they were watching "Ay Caramba!. They were, and seemed surprised I knew the show. :) I sat and watched it with them for a while. If the commentary is as bad as "American's Funniest Home Videos," it's just as well that I don't know much Spanish.

previous next

I am a sensative artist...

2002-11-13 - 12:20 a.m.

Bleh, tired, don't feel that great. At least only five and a half hours to go this week (plus a meeting, probably thursday, bleh).

Oh well, thought this was cool:

Pic of me? painting on an easeled canvas


I'm exceptionally artistic!

Find your soul type at kelly.moranweb.com.

previous next

sad meat story

2002-11-05 - 11:33 p.m.

There's this Thanksgiving story I remembered and was looking for online, but I couldn't find it anywhere, so here it is, to the best of my memory.

A man won a raffle at work for a Thanksgiving turkey. He picked up the turkey and got on the bus to ride home.

He overheard a man who said he wished he could afford a turkey for his family for Thanksgiving. The man thought about it for a moment, walked over, and handed the stranger the turkey. It was a touching scene, etc.

The next work day, the man told his co-workers about the incident on the bus. Strangely, no one seemed very happy about it. Finally, someone explained to him that they had intended to play a prank on him. They'd given him a rubber turkey.

* * *

If anyone knows the origin of this story, please let me know. It might have been an anecdote I heard in church even... sounds like something Chuck Swindoll would have shared. It's structured like a joke, but with a downer for a punchline.

Thinking back on it, imagine the man got the turkey home, opened it, and decided to make up that bus story to "get them back."

previous next

online friend, offline death

2002-11-03 - 10:11 p.m.

A friend of mine just told me a friend of his from an online game died in a traffic accident.

This got me to thinking, if I died today, would my online friends ever know, or would I just disappear, leaving them to wonder?

Thankfully for me, my domestic partner knows all the places I hang out online, and a few other friends know most of them.

But I'm sure I have a few friends who spend a lot of time online, whose families would know to contact certain off-line friends in the event of their deaths, but might not know about online friends or know how to contact them. Also, most people online use a handle, that their families may or may not know, while their online friends may or may not know their legal name.

My friend's friend probably had a "crossover" friend, that they knew both online and offline, or at least they had each other's phone number. Lacking such a friend, I think writing up a document of online contacts along with a will (or just handwritten in a safe place) would be a nice idea.

Does anyone know if there is already an established format or precedence for such a form? At the very least it could be a set of instructions for family to follow.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!