latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

happy tears

2002-10-15 - 3:49 a.m.

I just had a confirmation that I am on my monthly cycle (see two enteries ago): I saw my name in a list of Good Things on a diary, and I almost cried. I can feel the tear ducts that had just barely started to do their thing. In comparison, I have seen my name in a Good Things list before, and I've smiled a lot over it.

Thanks. I hadn't known how much I needed that. Aww, there I go again...

previous next

survey excerpt

2002-10-14 - 11:21 p.m.

I just filled out this survey, and liked some of my answers. Also I was worried that they'd cut off since they're long, but Diaryland seems to have fixed that since the last one I filled out.

5: If you could have your dream house, how big would it be? What would be some nessecities it would need?

It shouldn't be *too* big, but with at least a few guest rooms. It should have a few servers, with a few exabytes of storage. Hey, this is a dream house, right? (1 petabyte = 1024 terabytes, and 1 exabyte = 1024 petabytes.) Throw in a few more computers to play around with, and a nice network. Oh, throw the servers into a server room. It should have solar panels, though they probably can't run all of that computer stuff. Oh, throw in a windmill. With a fridge, some various games, a play room (no, not *that* kind of play), a library, a few bathrooms (one with a Japanese-style bath), comfy bedrooms, kitchen, living room, and basement, I should be all set. Heehee, I started off saying not *too* big, didn't I?

9: Do you know who your parents favourite musician is/was?

My dad was into classical when he was alive, though a bit elitist about it, so I didn't talk to him about it much (everything besides classical was "noise"). My mom's favorite song is "Isn't it Rich?" by Stephen Sondheim. She also likes other contemorary music and show tunes, as well as Bach, Chopin, and Beethoven. She's a pianist and an organist, so it's hard not to know about her and music.

previous next

pms

2002-10-14 - 9:55 p.m.

I was feeling a myriad of emotions, most recently loneliness, when I started to think about it and realised I've felt this before. This is my monthly cycle.

It's not all that strong today, but I haven't noticed it for a while. I'll try to document it here, okay? I'm sure you'd all love to know.

I'm going to go find someone to talk to, and maybe even a problem to fix.

previous next

Britney no Go

2002-10-13 - 7:02 p.m.

Silicon was a fun convention, what I saw of it. I wish I could have stayed longer, but I had to work Saturday night.

Today I have done a few things to be proud of. I finally bought a go set. Go is a strategy game that makes chess look like checkers--computers are nowhere-near advanced enough to rival master players yet. Maybe if they give the computer enough of a handicap...

The second thing is, I found the Britney Spears guide to Semiconductor Physics.

Once I master the basic rules of the game (the rules are much easier than chess), maybe I'll set up in the cafeteria on my break and see if anyone challenges me to a game. I'll have to start re-watching Hikaru No Go also.

previous next

Almost weekend ramble

2002-10-09 - 3:46 a.m.

Ahh, almost the weekend again. Bout 2 hours to go...

I wish I had the time and resources to do something extravagently silly, like shrinking quarters or blowing up 3.5 pounds of sodium metal (Na), but I guess I'll be content for now to work on server configuration and pay some bills.

That all doesn't sound like a whole lot of fun though. Well, I do want to find or make a script that will monitor my web server for too many hits, especially for a few video files I want to host, so it can automatically make some adjustments and email me if I start getting swamped (don't really want to bring down my server or the bandwidth of my gracious co-location providers). That sounds pretty interesting and even a bit fun.

Oh, Silicon is this weekend... and a week from today I'll be flying off to Seattle to drive back to the SF bay area, just so I can help Andri drive to a con here (Yaoi Con). Long drives are nice once in a while.

Where was I going with this? I don't know... I'm a half hour away from the weekend now. Gonna go get the car worked on, then, who knows?

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!