latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

I'm magical.

2002-08-21 - 12:33 a.m.

You are Haneoka Meimi (of Saint Tail).

You are athletic and determined, though not necessarily the best of students. You have a strong sense of justice and are always willing to help those in need. You love to joke around, and have tons of friends. Though you love a good chase, you never like to get caught.

Take the "What Magic Girl are you?" Quiz.

previous next

Minky Takarada

2002-08-20 - 10:35 p.m.

I was walking through the cleanroom to go fix something (I wasn't sure what yet, because I had trouble understanding the woman on the phone), when I realized I felt this connection to the place. I was there to help run things, and I had finally sort-of bonded with the clean room.

I've felt that way before, after being at a job for long enough, having some idea of what I'm doing, and starting to like a place.

I was doing a search for a page to describe Minky Momo to a friend and found this site about the author of that Minky Momo page, er, Minky Takarada.

It's tongue-in-cheek, and just the right humor for a nice little home page. Anyone know why his wife's eyes are blacked out, but he and his children are unedited? Well, looks like every picture was edited... maybe his wife didn't want to be recognized?

If you poke around his site more, you may find more about his near-religious revere for Minky Momo, since he discovered the show in college. With the world's prejudices, and specifically with how embarrassed some Japanese men are of being fans of anime and manga designed for girls, I find it refreshing that this guy can call himself Minky Takarada and proclaim to the world his pure devotion to this show.

I've only watched episode 1 so far... please let me know if I go overboard on it. Though my favorite mahou shoujo (magical girl) shows are still Cardcaptor Sakura and Tokyo Mew Mew, so far...

previous next

my boss pierre

2002-08-20 - 7:23 p.m.

My boss is named Pierre now. He doesn't know this, and I don't know why, but it seems a very appropriate name for him. It even seems to fit nicely with his last name.

I once worked in a company with a principal named Pierre, but that's just a coincidence.

Pierre was pretty nice today, and we worked out how much time I can take off for Worldcon this year. He showed me how to do something, and made a big mistake, and I felt a lot better about the mistakes I've made.

previous next

Canadia!

2002-08-20 - 3:29 a.m.

I know a lot of people call refer to Canada as Canadia just for fun (example), and because of the word Canadian. I've also heard of people insisting this was actually the proper word for that country!

So I thought hey, I could buy canadia.com, and put up a silly web site! So what if I already have a few domain names I do nothing with? Alas, some Canadian company that sells diamonds already owns it, and .net, .org, and .ca are also taken, and not even for humourous purposes.

There's a Canadia bank in Cambodia, and even friggin' Ireland has canadia.ie (Canadia Distributors Ltd).

Even my Canadian friends tend to call it Canadia. I think it could be a fun, silly web site with stuff about relations between the Provinces and the States... jokes, stories, whatever.

Of course, this makes me think of the current projects I have which I don't have enough time or motivation for as it is.

So, good reader, I give you this: canadia.info and candia.biz are up for grabs. Beyond being their customer for all my domain needs, I have no affiliation with joker.com, but their prices and web tools are nice. Check out the domain search I've already done there.

ConJose is only 9 days away. It should be a blast, though I don't know exactly what days I will be working as my normal schedule then, much less which days I'll be able to have off. I'm glad I live nearby.

Joseph from Valkyrie Anime is just finishing up episode 1 of Zero Productions! I'm beginning to get excited about this. I may have a few copies to hand out at ConJose! I can have parties at cons in the future, without worrying about people squinting at the old VHS copies, trying to figure out what's going on!

previous next

but I'm not a cheerleader...

2002-08-18 - 2:30 a.m.

Heh, saw this on yet another journal and had to take the test. I loved that movie.

If I were a girl from _But I'm a Cheerleader_ I'd be Graham. A heaping helping of smartass & a bit of a loner.  I like girls... a lot.


Find out which But I'm A Cheerleader girl you are.

previous next

tech week

2002-08-18 - 12:05 a.m.

I'm feeling a bit of those starting-off-a-4-day-week-of-12-hour-shifts-after-spending-the-last-few-days-working-on-tech-stuff-at-home blues.

The plus side of doing all that tech stuff is that I now have a co-located server where the connection is about 5 times as fast as at home. I plan to move some of my domains over there gradually, but my home connection should improve as I offload most of my anime fansub downloads to their network.

I was somewhat proud of the server as all it really needs are power and a network connection. It will boot up to remote accessibility without needing anything else plugged into it. It started up as soon as it was plugged in (it may have to do with the setting to turn itself back on after a power failure), and uses the ext3 journalling file system, so having to run fsck (in Windows-speak, think Scandisk after improper shutdowns, unless you use NTFS) is very unlikely, which is good because it has 160 gigs of storage.

By the way, I found this bit of neatness while browsing online journals today:

                       _
ASCII ribbon campaign ( )
 - against HTML email  X
             & vCards / 

Now go read a book or the like. Oh, you don't have time to read a whole book?

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!