latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

Official night person

2002-08-12 - 1:58 a.m.

I just had lunch break at home and watched a little anime. I wish my domestic partner stayed up a bit later... oh well.

When I got off work at 8 or 9 in the morning, I would get tired at night on the weekends. Now that I get off at 6am, I find my body has adjusted, and even if I try to adjust to "day" schedule on my weekend for some reason, it tries to adjust back. This happened last weekend. I think that makes me officially a night person for now.

Current music: none

Currently thinking about: last weekend

Currently reading: Polyamory: The New Love Without Limits (loaned to me by my domestic partner).

previous next

Southerly weekend happiness

2002-08-11 - 5:28 a.m.

So yeah, ade convinced me to go along with her to visit her dad in San Diego for the weekend with her frequent flier miles.

In no particular order:

1. Free weekend getaway with Ade

2. I happen to like San Diego

3. A friend from my old church in Orange County recently moved to Oceanside, right near San Diego

4. See, there is this girl. I'm trying to think of a good, fitting nickname for her so I can easily refer to her in this journal. I had a crush on her, and then we cuddled some at Westercon and have been emailing a lot lately. She's also in that general area, so I would get to spend some time with her...

In short, I was easy to convince to go along.

I didn't hear from my old friend in Oceanside. I didn't even spend that much time with ade until the final day of the weekend. I did get a lot of time for cuddling with the nifty fannish girl who lives around there, quite a lot, and yet not enough.

There is some I want to possibly explain, and some I don't want to explain. I'm tired, so for now, I think we got along quite well, and I want to visit her again.

We got to the airport early to go home, and our flight was delayed significantly. The gate crew decided to hold a little contest to give away an upgrade to the extra first-class seat they had available. Sing a song into the intercom.

This severely boggled my mind, to the point where I couldn't remember any full song, as I stood there and said yes, I'll enter the contest. To make things worse, the first contestant (of the three of us) did a beautiful renditio of "I Left my Heart in San Francisco."

I stayed there and decided to go for a song I at least could do a good chorus on, the same one I sang at KVO soon after I was hired, "How Great Thou Art," in Russian. I got compliments later, even though the last contestant (who started off saying "please vote for me") couldn't keep from laughing as she sang "Twinkle Twinkle Little Star." The first guy won, of course.

After we got back, I went to Bug's house, visited for a while, then took my domestic partner (who was already visiting there) home, since she wasn't feeling well. If I don't sleep soon, I won't be feeling well, so maybe I will continue this later.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!