latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

Repose en paix, Priscilla.

2002-07-20 - 7:12 p.m.

I'm tired and sore. One of my shins is banged up, and I have various bruises here and there, and a few small scabs.

But I'm quite happy with the results. Sorry about how large and slow-loading the pictures are, but I really wanted the full detail of Priscilla after officially retiring from service after probably 400,000 miles, or 650,000 km.

I did the sawing work in two days, with only a little bit of help. Pick-n-Pull will be picking her up Monday. I plan to visit both San Jose locations soon to take pictures there. I wish I could be there to get her picture as the tow truck drags her away. Oh well.

Seven and a half years... Super Bowl Sunday 1995 doesn't seem that long ago. Well, I did know her before I drove her home that day, as she was driven by my youngest sister, then my mome, then my dad. But they day I drove her home and saw The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert, I felt it was the start of something special, and not just a great way to get away from super-bowl-watching roommates.

Then a few months later, the small dent in the front happened (anonymously while she was parked), which I painted over with red to avoid rust and mark it as an "ouch" mark. That led to thinking, "Why not paint her some more?"

One of my friends, on seeing the pictures, became upset with me. I guess she doesn't understand "to grok." I must dispose of her, but I will keep important parts of her, and will always remember her.

I still have trouble believing the deed is done. I tried to sell her twice, and she came back. She broke down and required over twice her value in repairs, and I had her fixed. But this time, my mechanic said it was only feasible if I made six figures and threw thousands of dollars into the project and gave him months to scrounge up parts.

I've grown attached to cars in the past, but this is different somehow. I think the memories associated with her have a lot to do with it. Here's to new memories.

Repose en paix.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!