latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

Three-hour syndrome

2002-06-11 - 1:41 a.m.

I just emailed my mom. Does anyone have ideas on how to encourage her to actually send people email? I also want to get her a computer eventually, one that's very easy to use and get online with, and doesn't use up her phone line.

This is the 3rd day of my 4-day week. Then I have 4 days off. My first four days off in a row since... well, since I was out of work for almost four months. Anyway, yeah, I like the idea of that many days off in a row every two weeks.

I saw most of the remastered Zero video. It is really really nice, much better than the master tape or even the source tapes we used to make the master. Of course, back then, getting together enough hard drives to save the whole thing digitally would have been astronomically expensive. And that's the finished product, not the 20 gigs or so my new friend has devoted of his hard drive to the project.

I ordered a few DVDs to complete the source material needed for the project. I should have them next week... okay one I should have within about a day. I'm excited about this project. I have a friend who has been waiting for a digital copy of the videos... I plan to send him episode 1 once it's restored, and the others as-is for now. It will be a big difference!

The three-hour syndrome is annoying. Not as bad as three-minute madness, but it happens to me 2 or 3 times a week. I come home from work, sleep soon after, then wake up and have 3 hours to eat and do whatever until I have to leave for work again. Ugh.

Speaking of three-minute madness, that entry seems ages ago. I guess a lot can change in a short while. I had fun seeing her at her birthday party recently.

Back to work. The traffic pattern when I wake up is the beginning of evening commute. My favorite natural foods stores are not that far away, but I'm bound to hit heavy traffic if I go there right before work, or even when I first wake up. And of course I eat at work. So I guess I need to stock up on food before my first night of the week.

My boss has known since February that I want 4th of July weekend off. Now he is complaining about sick days I've taken and also Memorial Day weekend (which he also knew about since February). I really hope I can take that Saturday and Sunday off. I paid for Westercon three years ago. I have hotel reservations. If the time off isn't approved, I may be able to switch a day or two with a coworker.

One more three-hour thing to go, and one more 12-hour shift this week.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!