latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

Priscilla

2002-03-10 - 10:24 a.m.

I love her, but I feel we must part ways.

My first impression that I remember of Priscilla was that she was annoying, because you had to slam her doors to get them to close. That was when my Dad was driving her. Previously, my sister bought Priscilla used, and I think my Mom was next in line to drive her around before my Dad.

I moved to San Jose in 1991 and got along without a car for four years. I did my first major bicycling and got in pretty goot shape, though my general energy level didn't increase. I just had extra cycling energy.

My parents offered me a car once during those four years, and I said no, because I couldn't afford all the extra expenses at the time. That was when I was living in a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom apartment with four other college students, in what I affectionately called the "Scummy Apartments," for $137.50 a month (I guess the total was $687.50 at the time).

The second time they offered me a car, I said yes. I think I took Greyhound down, or maybe I flew, but I know I drove home that Superbowl Sunday in 1995 and went to see Priscilla, Queen of the Desert, that night. It was fabulous, and Priscilla got her name quite naturally. I wonder what ever happened to Ann, the girl I saw the movie with.

I have lots of memories, from the steam that poured of her hood that finally led me to my first of many trips to Foreign Affair, to the dent by Brian's house where she was parked that led me to getting her painted, to the various engine problems that have led me to decide to sell her.

She's been driven by my domestic partner (including the infamous driving lesson that ended with Priscilla on top of a bush and being winched off by AAA), Nancy, Mom, Dad, Brooke, Reid, Trey, Daphne, Tiger, TJ, Blackhawk, Brian, Luke, Ace (who tried to buy her twice), Ade, and even Bug's dad from Columbia. I'm sure I left somebody out.

People have made out in Priscilla (and who knows what else?). We've driven her to San Diego and L.A. and Portland a few times. She was famous for being parked under Interstate 5 between the two hotels at Westercon 48 in Portland in 1995 (under the freeway bridge was a good spot for shade that summer).

Her air conditioning probably still works, but her engine (which I've poured a few thousand dollars into the last few years) has gotten really bad. If I had $10,000 to throw at her, I'm sure she'd turn out spiffy again for a long time.

Her blue book value isn't even listed on kbb.com. She's a 1980 Honda Accord 2-door hatchback. They do list the 1982 car that's shaped just like she is. At 450,000 miles (my estimate), if she were in fair condition, she'd blue book at $500. They don't list a price for poor condition, which is closer to the truth, if not an understatement. I might be able to talk someone who doesn't know much about cars into buying her for $50.

The state of California offered me $500 to buy her outright. My mechanic said there's a program from California that will buy her for $1000 when she fails Smog check this year. I feel sad when I see her just parked there, probably never to be fixed again. And when she fails Smog, my options are to throw thousands of dollars at her, register her as non-operational (my trailer park doesn't allow non-op cars in the driveways, and they aren't allowed on the street, so I'd have to beg a friend for a driveway or back yard spot somewhere), or sell her.

Even when the passenger door would close too hard and her window would come off the track and fall inside, I still loved her.

I'm going to miss her. I think I will throw a small wake in her honor and show Priscilla, queen of the desert. It's been a lovely seven years, Priscilla.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!