latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

9cm gash, Chexsystems

2002-02-27 - 2:38 a.m.

I decided to read and take a bath at the same time Sunday night.

Milhouse the kitty decided to come see what I was up to, and started crawling around the edge of the tub, and up onto the actual faucet and knobs.

I thought, wouldn't it be great fun to knock him off-balance with my foot and see what happens?

Answer: No.

Thankfully, the book did not get wet. However, while I was amused when he caught himself on the plastic shower curtain and proceeded to crawl all the way across it, towards me, and then away from the tub, I didn't notice right away that the "slight" scratch I felt on my shin was in fact a 9 cm bleeding gash.

Then the light shut off automatically, and I realised there was no longer a way to get it to turn on without actually getting up and turning it on.

Somehow, the second time it shut off was much sooner than it ought to have been, so I gave up on the bath and applied peroxide to my gash.

I became interested in something or other about the time I normally go to sleep, and wound up sleeping very little on Monday. Since I was awake, I tried to get a joint bank account with my domestic partner, and found that the local bank that used to give out accounts to people who had had problems with Chexsystems within the last 5 years, had joined a larger corporation and no longer wanted anything to do with us.

I found one of the fine anti-Chexsystems web sites and consulted their list. For those of you who don't know, most banks will report you to Chexsystems if you carry a negative balance for a while, and Chexsystems will continue to list you for five years, even after you clear it with your bank (it generally has to be long enough that the bank closes your account). Most banks will also check with Chexsystems and refuse to do business with you if you're listed with them. According to a web site I read, Washington Mutual has been known to close existing accounts in good standing if you suddenly get listed with Chexsystems.

Anyway, I took my domestic partner to lunch and to work, and found a nice online bank on the East Coast that was listed as not using Chexsystems and signed up with them. Now I just have to send a signed form, a copy of some IDs, and an opening balance, and we're in.

Tuesday, I slept 10 and a half hours. I suppose I needed it.

I started off my work week with plenty of work to do. I suppose it makes sense, since the day people have put in two work days while I was having my weekend.

I want to visit my mom some weekend soon. I figure I can go to sleep Sunday morning, wake up early, drive down, visit for dinner, stay up, get up Monday and visit more, then go home late Monday night, and still get home in time to sleep my usual time. I think I'll want to bring my eye mask thing and maybe a spare fan, for my day sleeping.

I still like graveyard schedule. Sometimes it's inconvenient, but it's also often convenient.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!