latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

I'm supposed to think at this hour?

2002-02-13 - 1:05 a.m.

By the way, regarding that last entry... Working alone at night... don't read it in a sad, lonely tone of voice. Read it in a manic, paranoid, pacing, somewhat crazy tone of voice. Okay, on to today.

Bleh, first night of the week, and all the work that's lined up for me involves lots of thinking.

I've got the up-all-night, sleep-all-day thing worked out with my body. I'm feeling more comfortable with it. That doesn't mean my brain is ready and willing to work hard for me while I'm at work yet.

I just recalled that though my last (and only other) night job had worse hours and made my legs and feet sore, it had the advantage that very little thought was involved. A number would flash on the screen, and I'd quickly walk to the correct section of the tape library, grab the right tape, and feed it to the computer.

It's a short week. I'm going to a convention this weekend, yay (:.

Money stuff is a hassle. I want my tax return. I want to be done watching my account several times a day trying to figure out how to keep it in the black and still appease my most important creditors.

What I'd really like tonight is to go and meet a friend for a nice meal. Too bad my friends are asleep for my 3am or 4am meal break, and I don't particularly like Lyon's or Denny's or Carrows.

Wow, ever stay up late and notice your mind has been drifting, almost in a sleep-like state? No wonder I'm having trouble planning out the things I'm working on tonight...

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!