latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

Paragraph association healthy babble

2002-01-26 - 12:34 a.m.

Whew, the week is over.

My last entry was Sunday, when I was feeling week and rather sick. Then came the 102.7 F fever, the pounding sinus headaches, a list of about 10 symptoms I read to a doctor on Monday...

The worst of it was just generally feeling extra-bad, even for a sick me, and lying down hurting so much that I finally figured out I needed plenty of pain medication in order to go to sleep.

That doesn't make for a good entry, so I'll leave the sick stuff at that. I have one more week left working days (unless they decide that's not enough)... and Ade wants me to ask for two vacation days already so I can work con suite for Gallifrey One with her. I guess it can't hurt asking for two days, er nights, off, even though my second week I took sick leave. Cons are generally fun.

Cons... there's a con about a half-hour drive away going on at this very moment, Further Confusion. I plan to stop by tomorrow, at least long enough to find a friend and see her in her neat costume. If I feel up to it and want to stick around, I may even buy a badge, depending on how much money they want.

Money... the temp agency actually got my first paycheque to go through direct deposit today! Well, at least, they said they put it through today. I looked online at my account... then called my bank, who said that if it didn't go through at 6am today, it will go through 6am Monday. This paycheque being the first in 4 months, it would have been nice if I'd been able to have some of the money today. At least Ade gave me some money towards our cell phone bill.

Bills... the bill people want money too. I'll figure that stuff out next week. I told some of them I get paid today... they can wait till next week too. So can shopping for food.

Food... Sunday through Thursday I basically had no food at all. I thought I wanted an apple on Wednesday, till I threw it up about 6 hours later. I happen to really like food. Today I felt real hunger, even heard my stomache growl, so I knew it was time. I had pea soup, almost a liter. I had pad thai. Food is a nice thing, a thing that's usually eaten every day. Maybe I hadn't taken food for granted... I really do appreciate it every time I eat it... but today I had a special appreaciation for it. It was like seeing an old friend I'd missed.

Friend I missed... I've thought about old friends in the last 24 hours. A friend I haven't heard from in 25 years. A friend who crawled into a space to hide away from the world and waste away. A friend who is coming home later, who I don't feel I've connected with very well lately. A friend who has moved away and is still fitting in in his new location. A friend I've known for years, and only gotten to know well in the last few months, and have only seen twice in the last month.

Have I babbled on almost enough? I sit here, feeling health still washing into the little sick corners, and see with some perspective from the last week, and want to have the health and energy to do well at my new job, and strengthen friendships I still have, and make the house and my room more functional, and make me more functional, and do neat things, and eat really good food. Did I mention I like food?

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!