latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

Unknown Territory

2001-10-22 - 10:01 a.m.

About 3 weeks ago, I got laid off. I'm actively seeking tech support type employment and anything else I could remotely qualify for. But that isn't very interesting...

So, Silicon 2001 was a bit better than I expected. For a con that dwindled away to nothing and disappeared for a few years, then got bought by someone else and changed weekends and tried to start anew, I had low expectations. I threw a Zero Productions party and gave away duck food (the hotel has lots of ducks), and had lots of fun.

Still in a good mood from the con, and having that affect cons tend to have on me (enjoying new perspectives and feeling a bit less shy), I had dinner with friends and a mutual friend I've sort-of had a crush on for a little while.

I sat across from her, and she pulled out a 10-sided die and showed it to me. I thought about something to show her in return, and decided to jot down something in code. My heart raced a bit as I handed her this note (on the back of a weight loss card from a sign I tore down... I crossed off the weight-loss stuff... for my views on weight loss see my anysize.org):

Get

Out

Of

Unknown

Territory.

When

In

The

Himelayas,

Mind

Ettiquette.

I think it worked. I'm meeting her tonight after work. (:

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!