latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

gather sick max

2002-07-29 - 3:40 a.m.

I'm at work, and I don't feel totally well.

I don't feel totally bad either, though when I woke up I went back to sleep a few times, and I refused to do very much today before work.

We had an online gather at Ade's this weekend, and it was nice, though that's when I got sick. I think it may be a cold, or a very light flu. People were going to go out to dinner and asked if I would drive them there, and I calmly said no.

That's pretty cool, as if I can do something nice that really won't amount to all that much time I generally will without hesitating, but I'm glad I relaxed until I had to leave for work. Before a 12-hour shift, unless circumstances are extraordinary, I demand my right to be lazy. Well, that has too negative of a connotation. I think I said before here that anything vaguely resembling work is a bad idea right before a 12-hour shift. Driving people somewhere I don't want to go is too much like work.

So, the few hours before this shift, I watched the first few episodes of Max Headroom on Ade's housemates' Tivo. TechTV is currently airing the show (in order, it seems!), and it seems as fresh now about media and advertising dominating our lives as all the references to Minority Report I keep hearing (I do intend to see it at some point soon).

I'm off to upgrade some browsers.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!