latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

eulogy

2002-06-22 - 3:05 a.m.

I wrote this for my father's memorial service, and i'll read it in about 8 hours.

A lot of people from troubled childhoods turn out bitter or angry. But not my dad. His past gave him a heart for everyone, including parishioners and inmates, and he chose to dedicate his life to serving God.

He grew up in Omaha, Nebraska. He joined the Navy the day after Pearl Harbor Day; he served in Hawaii, China, and the South Pacific, as a radio operator and a choir director.

He attended Occidental College, and graduated from LaVerne college and Asbury Seminary.

He was a pastor for 35 years, serving at San Diego Evangelical United Brethren, La Cresenta Evangelical Free, Palm Springs Community, and Neighborhood Covenant Church in Rosemead. Then he served for 14 years in jail ministry at San Bernardino County Jail.

He liked cars, and used to wash all of our cars every Saturday morning before I was even awake. He also enjoyed chocolate and would ration it out to stretch out a small amount for months.

As Alzheimer's began to take him, he still paid attention to cars, and to chocolate. And he still looked to the Lord for guidance, and continued his witness as long as he could. He came to visit us in Northern California once and got sick with a high fever. He didn't know where he was, but while he was in the hospital, he sang "I Surrender All!" in his loud tenor voice.

I think that song sums it up well.

Let me close with verse two.

All to Jesus I surrender, Humbly at His feet I bow.

Worldly pleasures all forsaken, Take me Jesus, take me now.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!