latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

Denny's break

2002-05-09 - 5:42 a.m.

Even a simple trip to Denny's can break up the tired monotony that is often my graveyard shift.Orange juice. Toast ordered dry, then smothered in syrup like a waffle.

Then the memories started to come back. The Denny's closest to my office is also the one closest to the Doubletree Hotel, formerly the Red Lion Hotel, home of BayCon.

To my right was the whipped cream incident, where double-entendres nearly caused me to have whipped cream sprayed all over my head (which did end up happening to a friend of mine). To the left I sat with staff from a con which has now gone under, gossiping about their rival con which has since moved to L.A. Behind me I sat with friends planning a large party at a small convention, hoping to "save" it.

I wrote on two sugar packets, "I love you" on one and "you are here" on the other, put them back, paid with my last $5 ($3.95 plus about 20% tip), and left.

James was a pleasant enough server, and I put in a good word for him on the Denny's web site. I feel refreshed enough to make it through the next 3 hours till 9am, even including the small meeting with my boss where he will complain at me for flashing my bios.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!