latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

Router risks

2002-04-10 - 7:04 p.m.

Hi, diary! It's been a few weeks.

I'm feeling less adjusted to my graveyard schedule lately. I pretty much sleep whenever I can and feel like it. Lately that means sleeping at nights on my nights off, and sometimes taking a nap instead of a "lunch" break.

I got new iDSL, through MegaPath. It was literally a headache getting everything transitioned, and I still have to do some DNS stuff for my other domains, but anysize.org is all set up again. I even missed out on going to Saturn Cafe so I'd have time to nap and reconfigure my router before going to work. I now know more about NAT and FlowPoint iDSL routers than I want to know.

I could have waited for morning for MegaPath support to telnet into the router once I reset the password. I took a risk fiddling with the router, resetting its IP address, when I could have wound up unable to telnet into it and fix it. I imagined the call to MegaPath support... "Hi. I'm an idiot. I screwed up my router's settings and can't telnet into it. Can you send someone to fix it?" Save. Reboot. Thankfully, the risk paid off.

I talked to a friend I hadn't talked to for a while, and it was nice. Who knows? Maybe we will hang out again some day.

I should become a permanent employee this week. Paperwork is a pain.

That reminds me, I have some paperwork to do myself... and some metalwork, stripping and ditching Priscilla... as painful as that will be.

Have a good day.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!