latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

cirque du merde

2002-02-21 - 6:28 a.m.

In the cafeteria last shift, I noticed a sign for a circus. I could have sworn it said "Cirque du Merde." I looked today, and it was a sign for Cirque du Mer, and someone had thoughtfully added "de" at the end to make it say "Cirque du Merde."

In case you don't understand the French term "merde," or even "cirque," use this link to translate this page from French to English. Click the Translate button. You may not want to read the whole page that way, because English words that look like French words will get translated to different English words... just look for the words in quotes near the beginning, then go back.

I found it amusing that I've heard plenty of Vietnamese, Chinese, English, and Spanish being spoken around here, and the first profane joke I've found was in French. Like, excuse their French. Okay, maybe it's just funny to me because I work all night.

I should be finished downloading Inu Yasha within the next week, and I'll be able to watch nearly the entire series so far in fan-subtitled versions of various quality.

I need to find something to do tonight that will look good in my report for how this shift went. There have been no calls, no one stopping by for help, nothing new assigned to me that I can act on... which means I have to think of something to do to improve my value here as an employee.

Maybe I'll download a REXX interpreter for Windows, learn more OS/2 stuff, or continue with the Visual Basic Tutorial for Beginners... no wait, that's inaccessible today because Tripod says it's been temporarily suspended due to excessive bandwidth consumption. Just as well, the bad grammar on the site was really getting to me. I'll have to find a new one.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!