latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

Well, Officer, I must have been going about 90.

2002-02-20 - 3:10 a.m.

The following long post covers my entire, busy weekend.

Gallifrey One was loads of fun. My graveyard shiftiness actually came in handy--we kept the con suite (room open to con-goers that serves food) open 24 hours a day, 75 hours total. They wanted me to start at 6pm and keep it open at least till 2am. I didn't want to throw off my work/sleep schedule, so I needed something to keep me entertained until at least 8am, so I just kept it open until I was relieved.

This also helped me out, because if I had gone to bed earlier, my roommates would have woken up around 8am and woken me up then anyway.

My vegan-ness also came in handy. Ade and I helped to plan food stuffs, and chose plenty of vegan options. We also had vegan split pea soup, and I made a black bean vegan chili that went over nicely. The con had around 700 people, which happened to include a dozen vegetarians, which included at least 4 vegans, who were more than a little happy that they had options for yummy food.

I met a good friend who stopped by the convention one night, and met me for dinner another night, and showed me a cool anime shop called Animate USA. We had dinner at Nyala, which was good, but seemed a bit toned-down for American tastes. Maybe if spicey is requested next time...

So the only non-food, non-petrol purchase I made was a manga (Japanese comic book) of Inu Yasha at Animate. I didn't make it to the dealer's room, panels, or any parties. I was mostly rooted in the con suite, or asleep. However, that gave me lots of time to sit around and meet and talk with people, and to eat, which are some of the main reasons I go to conventions.

I also caught up with a guy who used to be in an old anime club of mine in the 80's. We hadn't talked in about 15 years.

I would like to work their con suite next year. I would like shifts slightly shorter than 15 hours, or at least some time to explore the rest of the con.

On the way down, I made it there in a personal record of 4 hours and 45 minutes. Luckily, on the way home, I was going a bit slower. A very nice officer, with a slight drawl, pulled me over just south of the 152 exit of interstate 5, about 4am. He was so polite and friendly, I thanked him. I was exceeding the posted speed limit of 70 miles per hour.

He asked why I thought he pulled me over, and I answered, "I must have been going about 90." He said that he'd gotten me on radar at 93, but he wrote it up as 90. I already knew he'd used radar, because I saw him change lanes to the right lane, where I was, and saw that the headlights looked like a police car's, and started to slow down before he hit his lights. There's no way he had time to match my speed and clock me that way.

My domestic partner said there's internet traffic school available now! I'll have to see if I'm eligible and give it a try.

Oh, I just discovered A Series of Unfortunate Events, a series of darkly humorous children's books. I borrowed my domestic partner's copy of A Bad Beginning, and last night just bought The Reptile Room, started reading it before work, and finished it on my dinner break. I must admit these are quite addictive, and a nice, quick read.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!