latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

Fast sick daiquiri

2002-01-21 - 2:09 p.m.

Lalala.

I've been sick since yesterday. Sore throat, stuffy/achey head, achey muscles, lack of energy, and generally acting tipsy.

I'm feeling a bit better... hopefully I can work tomorrow.

Generally, I've felt pretty good lately. It was nice how on Friday it really seemed like Friday. Before I switch to nights, I think I'll go to Rocky, since I haven't been for a long time, and I'll be working Saturday nights starting at 11pm, which would make it hard to go to Rocky for a while.

I live in an area where it's hard to get good bandwidth. I live too far away from the central office for regular ADSL. I've been settling for IDSL for the last year, $129 a month for 128K both ways (maybe it's 144), and lately it's seemed about the speed of 56K dial-up. I placed an order today with Qwest today, and some time in March I'll have 256K both ways, RADSL (a variation on SDSL), for $79 a month. A block of 5 usable static IPs will just be a one-time charge of $50.

I attended dinner for my domestic partner's 21st birthday last night, even though I was feeling pretty crappy. She was there too, the person I've been referring to as my cuddle-friend. Since we haven't seen much of each other lately, and haven't cuddled for a while, I think I'll have to think of another name for her here. She has pet rats and does technical support... maybe Rat Tech Grrl? Anyway, it was nice to see her. My domestic partner drank part of a strawberry daiquiri, that whole alcohol-for-21st-birthday-thing, but didn't seem to be feeling particularly well either.

Hmm, a nap sounds like a good idea.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!