latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

Awkward crowd

2001-10-31 - 7:44 a.m.

So, her ex came back, and I spent the evening with both of them. We cooked... we talked... we watched the Princess Bride... and there was much awkwardness, and it got worse as the evening went on.

There seems to be this dissonance between them, and it seems like "old" arguments keep getting argued again, and his offers of help seemed bitchy and condescending. But since this was my first real introduction to their dynamic together, I didn't catch a lot of subtleties.

I know and respect her ex... I've known him about ten years, while I've known her only a few, and only really well this year. He and I have plenty of mutual respect. Heck, I've seen him in a similar situation, and I feel bad for him, which really makes it feel strange. And I don't want to do anything to mess up any of our friendships.

We did get to cuddle and talk a little after he went to bed first (though he kept finding reasons to get up and do something else in the living room).

So... I will discuss wants and needs with her as far as this awkward thing. I'm willing to hang out with them together sometimes, but not every night. I'm willing to make more space in my room and buy something comfortable to sleep on in case she wants to stay here sometimes. And so on..

Oh, Happy Halloween. (:

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!