latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

What I'm looking for (long)

2001-10-23 - 10:39 a.m.

So, I said I didn't want to label what is happening with this girl I've been, er, hanging out with.

But I think I can explain where I'm at and what I'm generally looking for. This is directed to her, but saying it will probably help me understand myself more too.

I'm comfortable with open relationships as far as dating goes. I don't know how this would fit in if I ever found someone I wanted to marry... as I basically feel polyamorous... but I'm not looking for someone to marry. I figure I'll deal with that possibility if it ever comes up.

I'm not looking for a girlfriend. If I find something at some point that evolves into something resembling that definition, that's fine too. I'm looking for friends. If they happen to be really fun to be around and cuddly and cute and skritch and be skritched and very comfy to cuddle with, I won't complain.

Okay, end personal note. On with regular journally rambling.

I was thinking yesterday about how my life may seem to be about setting limits. I don't have sex. I don't eat meat, dairy products, eggs, or gelatin. I haven't even bought anything leather for a while, though leather doesn't really bother me. But I don't see it that way. So I don't want to do certain things?

I don't have sex, but I accept myself as a sexual being, and certain things that no one would call sex are a form of sexual expression. Okay, I don't like the way your imaginations are running wild. In relationships I've had, kissing and neck biting have been involved. Usually not in that order. So there.

I've made a personal choice about animal products. I don't want to eat them, mostly because of my beliefs about their nutrition content, though any less killing of animals for food starts to sound like a nice benefit after you haven't eaten meat for a while. Once in a great while certain types of meat smells make me feel sick... at my last job, with a year of working near the microwave, this only happened twice.

And now that I own my own home (read: trailer), and my own refrigerator in it, I don't want meat in it. There is almost always cheese and milk in my refrigerator because of my non-romantically-involved domestic partner. And I've sat at restaurants across from or next to someone eating a meat dish, and this has yet to bother me. If someone wants to cook for me or has questions about what I can/can't/will/won't eat, I'm more than happy to talk about it. Otherwise it usually doesn't come up.

If someone has a lengthy conversation about meat dishes or preparation or slaughtering techniques, it isn't likely I'll have much to say on the topic, but don't expect me to leave the room in disgust either. I've been vegan for eight years... it's second nature to me, and very easy for me to deal with.

Wow, I think that was my longest entry since I moved to Diaryland. That's all for now.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!