latest entry

older entries

friends

contact me

diaryland

sick / active

2000-10-22 - 19:48:38

So, what better way to drive off illness than 600 miles of driving?

I was sick Thursday and Friday, so I went to Santa Maria Friday. It's in the Central Coast of California, near San Luis Obispo, Arroyo Grande, Halcyon, Guadalupe...

My association with this area 200 miles south of where I live and 200 miles north of where I lived in the 80's started in 1995. I was a regular on a local dial-up chat BBS, which had a sister BBS down there, LOIS. They both got internet access, so I could suddenly telnet to lois.org and chat with freaks 200 miles away. I liked it, and they were friendly people, and I started doing road trips to "Lois-Land" and throwing New Year's parties in Pismo Beach and even dated a few Loisers...

Anyway, Rachel and Ember and I thought we'd visit down there. Ember used to live in Santa Maria, and we rescued her and brought her back to the Bay Area this year earlier this year (she lived here for a while a few years ago too).

We didn't see everyone, probably cause it was just a little trip, and we're throwing a New Year's party soonish. We hugged and bugged Lisa and dragged her to Golfland. Then we dropped her off and shopped in San Luis Obispo downtown. I got a few CDs, while Ember got $60 worth of books.

Rachel and I fought on the way home over whether I should stop for a bite to eat or whether she should get home 15 minutes earlier than she would have if we hadn't stopped. I felt she just wanted everything exactly her way... I haven't asked what she was thinking. Things are still a little strange between us.

Today Ember and I went to Concord to visit Rene and Rob. Ember and Rene and I rode her unicycle against a terrace, and tried to ride the crappy little unicycle I bought on eBay. I should get my mountain unicycle in a few days.

Rene is coming over next weekend, because Luke didn't go to visit her today, and he is leaving November 2 for Missouri. We will all miss him. I think he's insane for going, but he hasn't been happy with the mom or the sister, so hopefully he'll be happier out there. We will visit him sometime next year.

Okay, I guess that's all for now.

previous next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!